Monday, January 18, 2010

2010 ALA Youth Media Awards

Hooray! It was a fantastic morning on my couch with the YALSA Live Blog of the ALA Youth Media Awards. I never connected to the live feed, which is fine because I had horrible issues with it last year.

So here's the lowdown:

Newbery Honors:

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice written by Phillip Hoose
The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate written by Jacqueline Kelly
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon written by Grace Lin
The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg written by Rodman Philbrick

Newbery Medal Winner:

When You Reach Me written by Rebecca Stead

Caldecott Honors:
All the World ill by Marla Frazee, written by Liz Garton Scanlon
Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors ill. Pamela Zagarenski written by Joyce Sidman

Caldecott Medal Winner:

The Lion & the Mouse ill & written by Jerry Pinkney

Printz Honors:
Charles & Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
Punkzilla by Adam Rapp
Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes

Printz Medal Winner:
Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor:

E.B. Lewis for The Negro Speaks of Rivers

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Medal:
Charles R. Smith Jr. for My People, written by Langston Hughes

Coretta Scott King Author Honor:
Tanita S. Davis for Mare's War

Coretta Scott King Author Medal Winner:
Vaunda Micheaux Nelson for Bad News for Outlaws: the Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal

Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamiliton Award for Lifetime Achievement: (1st year for this award)
Walter Dean Myers

John Steptoe Award for New Talent:
Kekla Magoon for The Rock and the River

Geisel Honors:
I Spy Fly Guy! written & ill by Tedd Arnold
Little Mouse Gets Ready written & ill by Jeff Smith
Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends written & ill by Wong Herbert Yee
Pear and Wagner: One Funny Day by Kate McMullan ill R. W. Alley

Geisel Medal Winner:
Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! written & ill by Geoffrey Hayes

Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award

2011 Lecture will be given by Lois Lowry

Alex Awards:
The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind
The Bride's Farewell, Meg Rosoff
Everything Matters! by Ron Currie, Jr.
The Good Soldiers by David Finkel
The Kids Are All Right: A Memoir by Diana & Liz Welch
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
My Abandonment by Peter Rock
Soulless: An Alexia Tarabotti Novel by Gail Cairriger
Stitches A Memoir by David Small
Tunneling to the Center of the Earth by Kevin Wilson

Batcheldor Honors:
Big Wolf and Little Wolf written by Nadine Brun-Cosme, ill. Olivier Tallec, trans. Claudia Bedrick
Eidi by Bodil Bredsdorff, trans. Kathryn Mahaffy
Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness by Nahoko Uehashi, ill. Yuko Shimizu, trans Cathy Hirano

Batcheldor Medal Winner:

A Faraway Island by Annika Thor, trans. Linda Schenck

Belpre Illustrator Honors:

Diego: Bigger Than Life ill. by David Diaz (written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand)
My Abuelita ill. Yuyi Morales, written by Tony Johnston
Gracias Thanks ill by John Parra, written by Pat Mora

Belpre Illustrator Award:

Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children's Day/Book Day; Celebremeos El dia de los ninos/el dia de los libros ill. Rafael Lopez, written by Pat Mora

Belpre Author Honors:

Diego: Bigger Than Life written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, ill. by David Diaz
Federico Garcia Lorca written by Georgina Lazaro ill. Enrique S. Moreiro

Belpre Author Award:
Return to Sender written by Julia Alvarez

Carnegie Medal:
Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! Produced by Paul R. Gagne and Mo Willems of Weston Woods

Margaret A. Edwards Award:
Jim Murphy

William C. Morris Finalists:

Ash, by Melinda Lo
Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
The Everafter by Amy Huntley
hold still by Nina LaCour

William C. Murphy Winner:

Flash Burnout by L.K. Madigan

Odyssey Honor:
In the Belly of the Bloodhound - written by L. A. Meyer
Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson
We Are the Ship by Kadir Nelson

Odyssey Medal Winner:
Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken Produced by Live Oak Media written by Kate DiCamillo & narrated by Barbara Rosenblat

Schneider Awards:
Young Children's: Django written & ill by Bonnie Christensen
Middle Grades: Anything but Typical written by Nora Raleigh Baskin
Teen: Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork

Sibert Honors:
The Day-Glo Brothers by Chris Barton, ill. Tony Persiani
Moonshot written & ill by Brian Floca
Claudette Colvin by Phillip Hoose

Sibert Medal Winner:
Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone

YALSA Award of Excellence Finalist:
Almost Astronauts by Tanya Lee Stone
The Great and Only Barnum by Candace Fleming
Written in Bone by Sally M. Walker
Claudette Colvin by Phillip Hoose

YALSA Award of Excellence Winner:

Charles & Emma by Deborah Heiligman---WINNER

What a great list! I'm excited that for the first time I've read the Newbery & Caldecott Medals already! And I'm about 3/4 through one of the Newbery Honors, and have read several of these listed already. But I've got a hefty reading list ahead!

I'm VERY excited for Jerry Pinkney and his The Lion and the Mouse. I had that book picked from the second I picked it up. It's that amazing.

What do you all think of today's announcements?

No comments: